Built by members of the Society, the 1846 Sawmill serves as an educational experience for young and old alike. The Sawmill is directly behind the Hurd House Museum.
Please view the photo slideshow below which shows the building of the wooden water wheel and the restoration of the Sawmill building from 2009-to-2011.
To view the slideshow manually, click on the image, then arrow right & left.
Featured in the slidehow are: Frank Maciejewski, current Town Historian; Fred Streif, Mill Operations Trustee; and the late Donald Moeller, a highly-talented local woodworker.
Employees of the Town Of Elma Highway and Water Departments assisted, as did volunteers from Elma and surrounding areas of Erie County.
Currently the Sawmill is closed for foundation repairs. However, in early November we had a visitor, which the local DEC kindly escorted from the premises. See below for a mug shot.