The Town Of Elma NY has numerous unincorporated hamlets. As described in the webpage Early History Of Elma, the Town Of Elma was officially incorporated in 1857, and has an established town government, governed by a Town Supervisor, Town Council, Town Clerk, and so forth. The hamlets have no government.
These hamlets were small areas where a group of residents built homes, churches, schools and businesses (e.g., general store, grocery store, blacksmith shop, farming-implement seller). For many years these areas have been referred to as villages, but NY State now uses the word hamlet.
One thing most of these hamlets had in common was a dedicated Post Office. While the Spring Brook Post Office is still in operation (although it was almost closed a few years ago) the other hamlet Post Offices have been closed. Details on these Post Offices can be found in the Elma history books (see Museum Store).
Another feature of the hamlets located within Elma is that most had, and often still have, Fire Companies which serve the hamlet. The geographic area served may be larger than the hamlet itself, e.g., today the Spring Brook Fire Company serves a large area, which includes much of Elma Center.
Having so many hamlets in a small town such as Elma makes our town quite unique.
#1) Elma Village, f.k.a. Big Flats and others
#2) Elma Center, f.k.a. Elma Centre
#3) East Elma, later Frog Pond
#4) Spring Brook, f.k.a. Springbrook
#5) Blossom, f.k.a. Upper Ebenezer
#6) Jamison Road
#7) Cotton School District
Click to enlarge map, and then click again (in the area of interest) to enlarge further.
f.k.a. = formerly known as
Billington Heights, which is located in Southeast Elma, is not a hamlet but is, instead, one of several housing developments in Elma. For some unknown reason the U.S. Census Bureau has designated it as a CDP (Census Designated Place).